Skip to content

Best Nightwatch Alternatives for AI Visibility Tracking (2026)

By the AEOeye editorial team·Updated Oct 3, 2026

Part of our pillar guide: AI Visibility Tools

Aerial view of a lush green forest with a winding dirt road
Photo by Marcin on Pexels

The short answer

The best Nightwatch alternative depends on whether you want AI visibility alone or an SEO suite. For a first look, AEOeye's free audit (3 questions, ChatGPT) or $29 one-time report costs least. For ongoing AI-only tracking, Otterly.AI starts at $29/month, Peec AI at $95 and Trakkr at $100. Nightwatch itself starts at €99/month on monthly billing, with 500 tracked keywords bundled in. Prices checked October 2026.

Most people look past Nightwatch for one of three reasons: they only want AI answers, not a rank tracker; prompt capacity jumps in big steps; or they just want to know whether AI names them before paying monthly. This guide is based on public documentation as of October 2026; we have not tested Nightwatch or any other tracker hands-on. AEOeye is one of the options, so weigh our placement accordingly.

One warning before you compare. Older write-ups quote "$32 base plus a $99 AI add-on". Nightwatch's current pricing page shows nothing like that: AI prompts now sit inside every plan. Any comparison built on the old numbers is stale.

Why look for a Nightwatch alternative?

Nightwatch sells AI tracking only as part of an SEO platform, and that shapes every complaint worth taking seriously. Three show up on its own pages.

  • You cannot buy AI alone. The pricing page says every plan includes "the full toolkit": rank tracking (500 keywords on Starter), site audit, keyword research and content tools. If you never track keywords, you pay for them anyway.
  • Capacity moves in three big steps. Monthly billing is €99, €199 and €499, for 50, 150 and 500 AI prompts. Needing a 51st prompt means the €199 plan. There is no middle tier.
  • No free plan. There is a 14-day trial with no card required to start, but the page's FAQ adds that the account bills monthly automatically if you do not cancel within 14 days. Set a reminder.

None of this makes Nightwatch a bad product. It makes it the wrong shape for someone who wants one answer, once.

Two boys looking through binoculars at a grassy outdoor field

Which alternatives fit which need?

Pick AEOeye for a one-off baseline, Otterly.AI or Peec AI for cheap ongoing AI tracking, Trakkr for every engine on one plan, and AthenaHQ for credit-based monitoring plus actions. Prices are each vendor's lowest published paid plan, checked 3 October 2026, and the comparison table after the last section puts them side by side.

  • AEOeye: the one-off baseline. The free audit asks ChatGPT three unbranded buyer questions live, shows the full answers, names the competitors it recommended instead, and adds a score and starter fixes. The $29 one-time report adds Claude, Gemini, Google AI and Perplexity and raises it to 10 questions. It is not a tracker, so it will not tell you what changed next month.
  • Otterly.AI: the cheapest tracker. Lite is $29/month on monthly billing: 15 prompts, daily tracking, ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Copilot. Claude, Gemini and Google AI Mode cost extra.
  • Peec AI: published mid-tier analytics. Starter is $95/month: 50 prompts, daily tracking, one project, unlimited users, and three models of your choice.
  • Trakkr: every engine on every paid plan. Growth is $100/month for one brand and 50 prompts across eight models, including Claude, Gemini, Grok and Perplexity. The 14-day trial requires a card.
  • AthenaHQ: free to try, credit-based after. A free plan gives $25 of credit (300 credits); Starter is $295/month for 3,600 credits, where one credit is one AI response.
  • Profound now lists only a free 7-day trial and a custom Enterprise quote for brands, per its pricing page. It publishes no price.

A pattern worth knowing: entry price per tracked prompt is almost identical across the AI-only trackers, about 1.9 to 2.0 per prompt per month (Otterly Lite $29 for 15; Peec $95 for 50; Trakkr $100 for 50; Nightwatch Starter €99 for 50). That is our arithmetic, not a vendor figure, and mixes dollars and euros. The real difference is what is bundled around the prompts.

What does Nightwatch AI tracking cost, for reference?

AI tracking is included in every Nightwatch plan. Starter is €99/month on monthly billing, or €79/month billed yearly (€948), for 500 keywords and 50 prompts; Professional is €199 (€159 yearly) for 150 prompts; Agency is €499 (€399 yearly) for 500 prompts.

The pricing page displayed euros when we fetched it, and shows the yearly rate by default. We derived the monthly-billing figures from its own "Save" amounts (for example €948 + €240 = €1,188 = 12 × €99). A banner also advertised 30% off during our check; we could not confirm what it covers, so ask at checkout. A worked example and a verdict are on our Nightwatch AI tracking price page.

What does Nightwatch's own site show to AI crawlers?

In AEOeye's crawler access study (one fetch each on 2026-10-03), nightwatch.io's robots.txt blocked no AI crawlers and named none explicitly, /llms.txt returned 404, and the served homepage HTML carried JSON-LD for WebSite, SoftwareApplication, Offer, FAQPage and AggregateRating, among others.

Treat that as a fact box, not a verdict on the product. None of the 43 AI-visibility vendors in the study blocked an AI bot, and 27 of 41 had a valid llms.txt. Method and per-site data are in the study summary.

When is Nightwatch still the right choice?

Stay with Nightwatch if you already pay for keyword tracking and want AI answers beside it. In that case the AI prompts are close to a free add-on, and no AI-only tracker replaces the ranking side.

  • You run SEO for clients. Professional (€159/month billed yearly) adds white-label reports, a Looker Studio integration and API access, per the pricing page.
  • You want ranking and citation data together. Nightwatch's AI tracking page pitches linking citations to your Google rankings. That is the vendor's claim; we have not tested it. Whether ChatGPT leans on Google-style rankings is a separate question, covered in does ChatGPT use Bing.
  • You track daily, in many locations. The pricing page lists daily keyword checks in any location or language and a three-year history.

Leave if you will track fewer than about 50 prompts, never touch rankings, or have not yet confirmed that AI has a problem naming you. For that last case, run the free audit first, then choose a tool from the AI visibility tracker comparison.

A close-up of a coin-operated telescope pointing at a blurred landscape

How do you decide in five minutes?

Decide on three facts: whether you need keyword rankings, how many prompts you will actually track, and how many AI answers each prompt gets per month. Work through these steps.

  1. Run the free audit to see whether ChatGPT names you at all. If it does not, tracking daily is premature; fix the gap first.
  2. Count your prompts. Fifty well-chosen buyer questions is a lot for most small companies.
  3. Need rankings too? Yes points to Nightwatch. No points to Otterly.AI, Peec AI or Trakkr.
  4. Ask each vendor for answers per prompt. Nightwatch's page gives 1,500 AI answers a month on Starter, which is 30 per prompt a month, or one a day (our arithmetic). Peec defines its own figure as prompts × models × frequency. Compare like with like.
  5. Compare against a head-to-head. Our AEOeye vs Nightwatch comparison covers what each does and does not do.

Key terms

Answer engine optimization (AEO)
The practice of improving visibility in responses generated by generative AI systems, also called generative engine optimization (GEO). ↗
AEOeyeOtterly.AIPeec AITrakkrAthenaHQNightwatch (reference)
Lowest paid price$29 one-time report$29/month (Lite)$95/month (Starter)$100/month (Growth)$295/month (Starter)€99/month monthly, €79 billed yearly
Free optionFree audit: 3 questions, ChatGPTFree trial, length not stated"Start free trial", length not stated14-day trial, card requiredFree plan, $25 credit14-day trial, no card to start
Engines at entryChatGPT free; plus Claude, Gemini, Google AI, Perplexity in the reportChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot; Claude, Gemini, AI Mode extra3 models of your choice8 models, incl. Claude and Gemini11 models on Starter; 5 on the free planChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, AI Mode, AI Overview
Capacity at entry3 questions free; 10 in the report15 prompts, daily50 prompts, daily, 1 project50 prompts for 1 brand, daily3,600 credits (1 credit = 1 response)50 prompts, 1,500 AI answers/month, 500 keywords
Best forA one-off baselineCheapest ongoing trackingMid-priced analyticsAll engines on one planMonitoring plus actions, credit-basedSEO rankings plus AI in one suite

Key takeaways

  • Nightwatch's current pricing page includes AI prompts in every plan: €99, €199 and €499 a month on monthly billing for 50, 150 and 500 prompts. The old "$32 plus $99 add-on" story is outdated.
  • You cannot buy Nightwatch's AI tracking without the rank-tracking suite, which is the main reason to look elsewhere.
  • AEOeye's free audit tests ChatGPT on 3 questions; the $29 one-time report covers 10 questions across five engines. It is not a tracker.
  • AI-only trackers cost about the same per prompt as Nightwatch; compare bundles and answers per prompt, not headline price.
  • Stay with Nightwatch if you already track keywords or run client SEO; leave if you only want a first look at AI answers.

See how AI talks about your brand

Run a free AI visibility audit in under a minute.

FAQ

How much does Nightwatch AI tracking cost in 2026?+

As of October 2026, Nightwatch's pricing page lists AI prompts in every plan: Starter €99/month (50 prompts, 500 keywords), Professional €199 (150 prompts) and Agency €499 (500 prompts) on monthly billing. Yearly billing lowers these to €79, €159 and €399 a month. We derived the monthly figures from the page's own savings amounts.

Is there a free alternative to Nightwatch for AI visibility?+

AEOeye's free audit asks ChatGPT three unbranded buyer questions and shows the answers, competitors and starter fixes. AthenaHQ has a free plan with $25 of credit, and Profound offers a 7-day trial. None of them replaces ongoing daily tracking; they show whether you have a gap.

Does Nightwatch have a free trial?+

Yes. Its pricing page offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card required to start. The FAQ also says the account is billed monthly automatically if you do not cancel within 14 days, so cancel before the trial ends if you do not want to continue.

Which AI engines does Nightwatch track?+

Its pricing page lists ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Mode and Google AI Overview on every plan. Its AI tracking page lists Microsoft Copilot instead of the two Google surfaces. Check which engines you need before you subscribe.

Is AEOeye a replacement for Nightwatch?+

No. AEOeye is a one-time audit of whether five AI engines recommend your brand, not a daily rank tracker or SEO suite. Use it for a first snapshot, then pick a tracker if you need ongoing monitoring across many prompts.

Sources

Related