Skip to content

Best Otterly.AI Alternatives (2026): Prices and Best Fit

By the AEOeye editorial team·Updated Oct 3, 2026

Part of our pillar guide: AI Visibility Tools

Aerial view of a forest road intersection with vibrant autumn foliage
Photo by Benjamin Eriksen on Pexels

The short answer

The best Otterly.AI alternative depends on why you are leaving. Peec AI ($95 a month for 50 prompts) fills the gap between Otterly.AI's Lite and Standard plans. AthenaHQ (a free tier, then $295) and Profound (a free 7-day trial, then enterprise quotes) go deeper. Nightwatch (€99) adds rank tracking. AEOeye ($29 once) is for a one-off check, not tracking.

This guide rests on each vendor's public documentation: pricing pages and, for Otterly.AI, its help center, all checked on October 3, 2026. We have not used any of these products hands-on. AEOeye is our product, and we list it as plainly as the others.

Most people who search for an Otterly.AI alternative are not unhappy with the tool. They have hit a plan limit. Below are the three limits that cause it, five options, and when staying is the right call.

Why look for an Otterly.AI alternative?

Usually for one of three reasons, all visible on Otterly.AI's own pricing and help pages: a steep step from 15 to 100 prompts, Claude and Gemini sold as add-ons, and tracked data that disappears when you cancel.

  1. The prompt cliff. Lite includes 15 prompts and, per the pricing page, cannot buy extra packs. The next step is Standard at $189, $160 more. Each prompt is tied to one country, so five questions in three markets already fill Lite. Otterly.AI's own prompt calculator calls 50 prompts a "basic check".
  2. Engines sold separately. All plans track ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot. Gemini, Google AI Mode and Claude are paid add-ons, and Claude costs $29 on Lite and $109 on Standard. Standard with Gemini and Claude comes to $357 a month, by our sum.
  3. Data tied to the subscription. Tracking starts when a prompt is created, with no backfill, and after you cancel, tracked and historical data are deleted. Export first. Any tool you move to also starts a fresh history.

One reason is missing from this list: a lack of fix guidance. The pricing page now lists Recommendations (three a week on Lite, unlimited above) and a GEO Audit. If an older review told you Otterly.AI only monitors, it is out of date.

Which Otterly.AI alternative fits which need?

Pick by the problem you are solving. Peec AI is the closest like-for-like, AthenaHQ and Profound go deeper, Nightwatch suits teams that also track keyword rankings, and AEOeye answers a one-off question. The table after the sections sets them side by side.

  • Peec AI, the closest like-for-like. Starter is $95 a month for 50 prompts, three chosen models, daily tracking and unlimited users; Pro is $245 for 150 prompts and Advanced $495 for 350. That fills Otterly.AI's gap between 15 and 100 prompts. The catch is engines: three models are included, each extra model is an add-on ($30 a month on Starter), and the page shows Claude only in its Enterprise column. Check your engines first, and see our Peec AI pricing guide.
  • AthenaHQ, more engines and actions. The pricing page lists a free plan ($25 credit, 300 credits) and Starter at $295 a month for 3,600 credits across 11 models. One credit is one AI response, and API access and extra credits are paid add-ons.
  • Profound, the enterprise route. For brands, the pricing page lists a free trial (50 prompts run daily for 7 days) and a custom-priced Enterprise plan with up to nine answer engines, SSO/SAML and SOC 2. We saw no self-serve paid plan. See Profound pricing.
  • Nightwatch, a rank tracker with AI. €99 a month (€79 billed yearly) covers 500 keywords and 50 AI prompts, with a 14-day trial and no card. It fits if you already pay for keyword tracking.
  • AEOeye, a snapshot, not a tracker. The free audit asks ChatGPT three buyer questions; the $29 one-time report adds Claude, Gemini, Google AI and Perplexity and ten questions. There is no history or daily run, so it fits the question "are we named at all?"

Close-up of a directional signpost with city names and distances in an urban setting.

In AEOeye's crawler access study (October 2026, 391 sites), none of the 43 AI-visibility vendor sites, aeoeye.com included, blocked an AI bot in robots.txt. otterly.ai returned 403 to our crawler for robots.txt and the homepage, and peec.ai, tryprofound.com and nightwatch.io had no llms.txt where athenahq.ai did. That is one fetch on one day, per the study's CSV, not a verdict on any product.

How do you compare plans when each vendor counts differently?

Convert each entry plan to answers checked per month. Vendors count prompts, credits or answers, so sticker prices mislead; dividing the price by monthly answers puts them on one scale, with caveats.

Entry plan, monthly billing Price What is counted Answers a month Per 1,000 answers
Otterly.AI Lite $29 15 prompts × 4 engines, daily 1,800 $16.11
Otterly.AI Standard $189 100 prompts × 4 engines, daily 12,000 $15.75
Peec AI Starter $95 50 prompts × 3 models, daily 4,500 $21.11
Nightwatch Starter €99 50 prompts 1,500 €66.00
AthenaHQ Starter $295 3,600 credits, one per response 3,600 $81.94

Peec AI, Nightwatch and AthenaHQ publish their monthly answer or credit figures; the Otterly.AI rows are our arithmetic, assuming every prompt runs daily on all four base engines, as its monitoring guide describes.

Our reading: Otterly.AI is the cheapest per answer in this set, so people who leave rarely do it for price per answer. They leave over the 15-prompt ceiling or a missing engine. Nightwatch bundles rank tracking and AthenaHQ bundles content agents, so their higher cost is not pure markup.

Volume matters because answers vary. A SparkToro study advises asking at least 60 to 100 times and averaging. A daily tracker gives about 30 runs per prompt and engine each month, so by our arithmetic a number settles after two to three months.

What does Otterly.AI cost, for reference?

Otterly.AI costs $29, $189 or $489 a month for Lite, Standard and Premium, before tax, as of October 3, 2026. Enterprise is custom-priced from 1,000 prompts.

Plan Prompts Monthly Billed annually, per month Notable inclusions
Lite 15 $29 $25 1 workspace, 3 recommendations a week, no extra packs
Standard 100 $189 $160 API, MCP, Looker Studio, unlimited workspaces
Premium 400 $489 $422 5,000 API requests a month, personal onboarding

Extra packs of 100 prompts cost $99 on Standard and Premium. Gemini and AI Mode are $9, $59 and $149 a month, and Claude $29, $109 and $439, by tier. A 7-day free trial needs no card and includes 50 prompts. Full add-on totals are in our Otterly.AI pricing guide.

When is Otterly.AI still the right choice?

Stay with Otterly.AI if your prompt list fits a plan, the four base engines are the ones your buyers use, and you want daily data you can export. On price per answer it is the best value in this comparison.

  • You will use Standard's extras. API access (2,000 requests a month), MCP and the Looker Studio connector matter for dashboards and client reports.
  • You run an agency. Standard and above include unlimited workspaces, and Agency Partner status raises Standard to 150 prompts.
  • You need Copilot. It is in every Otterly.AI plan; AEOeye does not test it.
  • Fifteen prompts is enough. One brand, one market and a short question list is what Lite is for.

Our position: switch because of a missing engine, a missing market or a prompt count that does not fit, not because of a sticker price. If you leave, export prompts, citations and raw responses first; the export guide says CSV, JSON and PDF exports are on all plans.

If you have not measured anything yet, do not buy any tracker. Run the free audit first, and read AEOeye vs Otterly.AI or our wider tool comparison.

Directional street signs in a Chinese city with lush greenery and buildings in the background.

Key terms

Credit (AthenaHQ)
AthenaHQ's billing unit: one credit equals one AI response, so the number of prompts a plan covers depends on how many engines and how often you run them. ↗
Prompt slot (Otterly.AI)
One saved question in one country. The same question tracked in two countries uses two slots. ↗
AEOeyePeec AIAthenaHQProfoundNightwatchOtterly.AI (reference)
Entry price (checked Oct 3, 2026)$0 free audit; $29 one-time report$95 a month (Starter)$295 a month (Starter); free plan existsCustom (Enterprise); free trial€99 a month (€79 billed yearly)$29 a month (Lite)
What the price buys3 questions free; 10 questions in the report50 prompts, 3 models, daily3,600 credits (1 per AI response)Quote-based; trial is 50 prompts daily for 7 days500 keywords + 50 AI prompts15 prompts, 4 engines, daily
EnginesFree: ChatGPT. Report adds Claude, Gemini, Google AI, Perplexity3 chosen models included (e.g. ChatGPT, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Copilot, Gemini); extra models $30 each on Starter11 models incl. ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, CopilotUp to 9 answer engines on EnterpriseChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, AI Mode, AI OverviewChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot; Claude, Gemini, AI Mode extra
Free way to tryFree audit, 3 questions on ChatGPTNot stated on pricing pageFree plan: $25 credit, 300 creditsFree trial, 7 days14-day trial, no card7-day trial, no card, 50 prompts
Tracks over timeNoDailyYes (cadence not stated)Daily (Enterprise)DailyDaily
Best fitA first look or one-off checkA like-for-like step between Otterly.AI plansMore engines plus content actionsLarge teams wanting SSO and SOC 2Teams that also track keyword rankingsDaily monitoring with exports and an API

Key takeaways

  • People usually leave Otterly.AI over a plan limit: 15 prompts on Lite, then $189 for Standard, or Claude and Gemini sold as add-ons.
  • Peec AI ($95 for 50 prompts) fits the gap between Lite and Standard; AthenaHQ and Profound go deeper; Nightwatch adds rank tracking.
  • Per checked answer, Otterly.AI is the cheapest in this set, by our arithmetic from published limits.
  • AEOeye ($0, then $29 once) is a snapshot, not a tracker; run it before buying any tracker.
  • Switch for a missing engine or market, not for the sticker price.

See how AI talks about your brand

Run a free AI visibility audit in under a minute.

FAQ

What is the best free alternative to Otterly.AI?+

It depends what free should include. AEOeye's free audit asks ChatGPT three buyer questions with no time limit. AthenaHQ lists a free plan with $25 of credit (300 credits) across five engines. Profound and Nightwatch offer time-limited trials of 7 and 14 days. None replaces a paid daily tracker. Details checked October 3, 2026.

Which Otterly.AI alternative is cheapest?+

For public prices, Otterly.AI itself is cheapest at $29 for 15 prompts. Among the alternatives, Peec AI starts at $95 a month for 50 prompts, which undercuts Otterly.AI Standard ($189 for 100) if 50 prompts is enough. AEOeye costs $29 once, but it is a one-off audit, not tracking.

Is Profound cheaper than Otterly.AI?+

Not on public information. Profound's pricing page for brands lists a free 7-day trial and a custom-priced Enterprise plan, with no self-serve paid tier, so any price comes from a sales quote. Otterly.AI publishes $29, $189 and $489 plans. Profound is aimed at larger teams that want SSO and SOC 2.

What happens to my Otterly.AI data if I switch?+

Otterly.AI keeps access to the end of your billing cycle, then deletes tracked and historical data. Before cancelling, export prompts, citations and raw responses; CSV, JSON and PDF exports are on all plans. A new tool starts its own history from the day you add prompts, so the old trend line will not carry over.

Does Otterly.AI tell you how to improve visibility?+

Yes, to a degree. Its pricing page lists Recommendations, three a week on Lite and unlimited on Standard and above, plus a GEO Audit. Each recommendation shows reasoning and a suggested action, per its help center. We have not tested how good the advice is, so treat that as unverified.

Sources

Related