Skip to content

Best Peec AI Alternatives (2026): Five Options Compared

By the AEOeye editorial team·Updated Oct 3, 2026

Part of our pillar guide: AI Visibility Tools

A dirt road splitting into two paths through a misty forest at sunrise
Photo by Vaidas Vaiciulis on Pexels

The short answer

Peec AI is a solid daily tracker, so leave only for a concrete reason: price per prompt, a fixed choice of three models, a 12-month commitment, or needing just a one-off check. Otterly.AI is the closest like-for-like from $29 a month; AthenaHQ has a free credit plan; Profound offers a free 7-day trial; Nightwatch adds AI tracking to rank tracking; AEOeye is a $29 one-time audit.

This guide rests on each vendor's own public documentation and pricing pages as of 3 October 2026; we have not used any of these products hands-on. AEOeye is our product and is listed with its limits.

The reasons below come from Peec AI's own pricing page, documentation and terms, not from reviewer rumour. One popular reason has expired: Peec's Actions documentation now describes ranked recommendations, so "it only diagnoses" is no longer a reason to leave.

Why look for a Peec AI alternative?

Peec AI's own pages point to five real reasons: price per prompt and per extra model, a fixed choice of three models, a 12-month commitment, API access reserved for Enterprise, and a daily-tracking design you do not need for a one-off check.

  • Price and add-ons. Starter is $95 a month for 50 prompts and three models. Each extra model costs $30, $70 or $140 a month on the Starter, Pro and Advanced cards, per its pricing page.
  • Model access. Plans choose three of six listed models. Claude Sonnet 4, Grok, DeepSeek and others appear only in the Enterprise column.
  • Commitment. Peec's terms end a monthly plan at the end of the payment cycle, but give no automatic refund when a fixed term ends early. Trial length is not stated on its pricing pages.
  • Data access. Peec's API docs say API access is limited to Enterprise customers.
  • Wrong job. If you want one snapshot, the cheapest plan is still a $95 monthly subscription.

If none of these applies to you, staying is usually cheaper than switching, because you lose your prompt set and its history.

Which alternatives fit which need?

Otterly.AI fits a like-for-like swap, AthenaHQ a free start, Profound an enterprise buyer, Nightwatch a team that already tracks keywords, and AEOeye a one-time check. The table compares entry prices; the notes give the catch for each.

Otterly.AI: cheaper to enter, about the same per prompt

Otterly.AI is the nearest swap. Its pricing page lists Lite at $29 a month for 15 prompts, Standard at $189 for 100 and Premium at $489 for 400, tracked daily with unlimited team members. Four engines are included (ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot); Claude, AI Mode and Gemini are add-ons, which on Lite cost $29, $9 and $9 a month. A free trial exists, but its length is not stated. Our Otterly pricing guide has the details.

AthenaHQ: a free plan, then a steep step

AthenaHQ's plans page lists a free Essential plan with a $25 credit (300 credits) across ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Gemini and Copilot. Starter then costs $295 a month for 3,600 credits across 11 models, where one credit is one AI response. By our arithmetic that is about 8 cents a response against about 2 cents on Peec Starter. Extra credits and API access are paid add-ons without a published price.

A wooden directional signpost with an arrow pointing along a path in open countryside

Profound: a one-week trial, then a quote

Profound's pricing page shows a free Trial (50 prompts run daily for 7 days on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews) and a custom Enterprise plan covering up to nine answer engines, with SSO/SAML and SOC 2. It publishes no self-serve paid price. Choose it when procurement demands those controls; see our Profound pricing guide.

Nightwatch: AI tracking inside a rank tracker

Nightwatch's pricing page lists Starter at €79 a month billed yearly (€948) with 500 keywords and 50 AI prompts, Professional at €159 with 150 prompts and Agency at €399 with 500, each with a 14-day trial and no card. Every plan tracks ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, AI Mode and AI Overviews. It suits teams already paying for keyword tracking; if you want only AI answers, you pay for keywords too.

AEOeye: one snapshot instead of a subscription

AEOeye is not a tracker. Our free audit asks ChatGPT three unbranded buyer questions and shows the full answers; the $29 one-time report adds Claude, Gemini, Google AI and Perplexity and grows to ten questions. It has no history, no daily runs and no team seats. Use it to decide whether tracking is worth buying, or for a pitch snapshot. We compare it directly in AEOeye vs Peec AI.

What does Peec AI cost, for reference?

As of 3 October 2026, Peec AI's brand plans cost $95, $245 and $495 a month on monthly billing, or $80, $205 and $420 a month billed annually, for 50, 150 and 350 prompts. Per prompt that is $1.90, $1.63 and $1.41 a month at monthly rates (our arithmetic).

Compare that with Otterly.AI at the same rates: $1.93 on Lite, $1.89 on Standard and $1.22 on Premium. Peec is cheaper per prompt in the middle tier, Otterly at the top, and they tie at the bottom. A lower entry price is not a lower price per prompt.

Peec's agency plans cost $245, $495 and $795 a month on its agency page. Our Peec AI pricing guide breaks down limits and add-ons. For first-hand context: when we fetched the sites of 43 AI-visibility vendors for AEOeye's crawler access study on 3 October 2026, none blocked an AI retrieval bot in robots.txt. That tells you nothing about product quality; it only shows who is reachable by the crawlers they sell advice about.

A multi-directional wooden signpost on a city street with timber buildings behind

When is Peec AI still the right choice?

Peec AI is still the right choice when you need many prompts tracked daily at a low price per prompt, ranked actions with evidence, and client reporting. If those describe you, none of the options above is a clear upgrade, and switching costs you your history.

  • Around 100 to 350 prompts. Pro's $1.63 a prompt beats Otterly Standard's $1.89; only near 400 prompts does Otterly Premium become cheaper.
  • Actions and gaps. Peec's pricing page lists gap analysis (sources that name competitors but not you) and ranked actions split into site audit, owned and earned work.
  • Agencies. The agency page lists multi-client plans and free pitch projects for auditing prospects.
  • Bot traffic. Crawl insights read your server logs to show which AI bots reach which pages.

Switch for a stated reason, not a vague one. If your reason is cost, count prompts first; if it is Claude, check each vendor's current model list in its trial before you pay.

Key terms

Prompt (in AI visibility tracking)
A buyer question that a tracker sends to AI engines repeatedly so it can chart how often your brand is named. ↗
Otterly.AIAthenaHQProfoundNightwatchAEOeye
What it isDaily AI answer trackerAI visibility platform with content agentEnterprise AI visibility platformRank tracker with AI trackingOne-time AI visibility audit
Entry price (3 Oct 2026)$29/mo Lite (15 prompts)Free Essential; $295/mo StarterCustom Enterprise; free trial€79/mo billed yearly (€948)Free audit; $29 one-time report
Free optionFree trial, length not statedFree plan, $25 credit (300 credits)Free trial: 50 prompts daily for 7 days14-day trial, no cardFree ChatGPT audit, 3 questions
EnginesChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot; Claude, AI Mode, Gemini as add-onsFree: 5 engines; Starter: 11 modelsTrial: ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews; Enterprise up to 9ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, AI Mode, AI OverviewFree: ChatGPT; report adds Claude, Gemini, Google AI, Perplexity
Volume15, 100 or 400 prompts3,600 credits (1 per AI response)Custom prompt plan50, 150 or 500 prompts, plus keywords3 free questions; 10 in the report
Best fitLike-for-like swap, low entry priceTrying a platform before payingEnterprise controls, SOC 2Teams already tracking keywordsOne snapshot, no subscription

Key takeaways

  • Peec AI's own pages give real reasons to look elsewhere: add-on models, three chosen models, a no-refund fixed term and Enterprise-only API access.
  • "It only diagnoses" is out of date: Peec's documentation now describes ranked Actions with evidence.
  • Otterly.AI is cheaper to enter ($29) but about the same per prompt as Peec; at 400 prompts it is cheaper.
  • AthenaHQ, Profound and Nightwatch each offer a free plan or trial; AEOeye gives a free ChatGPT check and a $29 one-time report, not tracking.
  • If your reason to switch is vague, stay: you keep your prompt set and history.

See how AI talks about your brand

Run a free AI visibility audit in under a minute.

FAQ

What is the cheapest Peec AI alternative?+

For tracking, Otterly.AI's Lite plan at $29 a month is the cheapest self-serve tracker among those we checked, with 15 prompts. For no tracking at all, AEOeye's free ChatGPT audit costs nothing and its five-engine report is $29 once. Prices were checked on each vendor's own page on 3 October 2026.

Is there a free alternative to Peec AI?+

Three give a free way in. AthenaHQ lists a free Essential plan with a $25 credit, Profound a free 7-day trial of 50 daily prompts, and AEOeye a free three-question ChatGPT audit. Nightwatch offers a 14-day trial without a card. Free access is limited, so check whether it covers your engines.

Which Peec AI alternative tracks Claude?+

Nightwatch lists Claude on every plan, and AthenaHQ lists it on Starter. Otterly.AI sells Claude as an add-on, $29 a month on Lite. AEOeye's $29 one-time report includes Claude. On its pricing page Peec AI shows Claude Sonnet 4 only in the Enterprise column, so ask before assuming it is available.

Does Peec AI only diagnose problems without fixes?+

Not any more. Peec's documentation describes an Actions page that ranks improvements by relative impact, grouped into site audit, owned and earned work, each with evidence and a brief. We have not used it hands-on, so we cannot judge the advice, only that the feature exists.

Should I switch from Peec AI?+

Switch only for a specific reason you can name: cost per prompt, model access, the commitment, or needing a snapshot rather than tracking. Switching means rebuilding your prompt set and losing history, and Peec is cheaper per prompt than Otterly.AI in the middle tier. If you cannot name the reason, stay.

Sources

Related