Best Profound Alternatives (2026): Including No-Sales-Call Options
By the AEOeye editorial team·Updated Oct 3, 2026
Part of our pillar guide: AI Visibility Tools

The short answer
The best Profound alternative depends on the job. For a no-sales-call baseline, AEOeye's free ChatGPT check and $29 one-time five-engine report. For ongoing tracking you can start today, Otterly.AI begins at $29 a month, Peec AI at $95, LLMrefs at $79, Rankscale at $99 and Trakkr at $100, and AthenaHQ has a free plan. Prices come from each vendor's own pricing page, checked 3 October 2026.
Most people leave Profound's pricing page for one of three reasons: paid brand access is quote-only, the free trial is short and fixed, or agencies pay per client workspace. This guide is based on public documentation as of October 2026; we have not tested any of these products hands-on. AEOeye is one of the options, so weigh our placement accordingly.
Our position: Profound is not the problem, the way in is. If you only need to know whether AI engines name you, buying into a platform is backwards. Start with the cheapest tool that tells you the truth about answer engine optimization (AEO), the practice of improving how often AI systems name you, and graduate when the data says you should.
Why look for a Profound alternative?
Four things on Profound's own pricing page explain most searches for an alternative. None of them is about the product being weak.
- No list price for paid brand plans. Brands see a free Trial and a custom Enterprise plan, so you cannot budget without a sales conversation. Older write-ups quoted $99 Starter and $399 Growth brand plans; the current page lists neither. A $99 figure now appears only as the base of an agency plan.
- A short, fixed trial. The Trial runs 50 prompts daily for 7 days on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews. The prompt set is recommended for your industry and cannot be customized, and the Trial lists no history, exports or API.
- Per-client pricing for agencies. Agency Growth is $99 a month plus add-ons, and each full client workspace is a $399-a-month add-on. Three clients would be $99 + 3 x $399 = $1,296 a month before credits; that is our arithmetic, not a quote.
- More than monitoring. The page sells an AI Marketer that runs on credits, and says Profound is not only for AI search. If you wanted a tracker, you may be paying for a workbench.
One more correction: the older claim that Profound has "no free trial" is outdated, and so is the idea that you must book a demo just to try it.
Which Profound alternatives can you start without a sales call?
All of the options below have self-serve sign-up: AEOeye and AthenaHQ have a free entry, and the rest offer a free trial. The differences are what the entry buys and how often it measures.
- AEOeye is a one-off audit, not a tracker. The free check asks ChatGPT three unbranded buyer questions, shows the answers in full and names the competitors it recommended; the $29 one-time report adds Claude, Gemini, Google AI and Perplexity and ten questions. No subscription.
- AthenaHQ has a Free plan with a $25 credit (300 credits) across five engines. Starter is $295 a month for 3,600 credits, where one credit is one AI response, across 11 models. API access and extra credits cost extra.
- Otterly.AI Lite is $29 a month for 15 prompts, daily, on ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Copilot; Claude, Gemini and AI Mode are paid add-ons. A free trial is offered; the page states no length.
- Peec AI Starter is $95 a month for 50 prompts, three models you choose, daily, one project and unlimited users. See Peec AI pricing.
- Trakkr Growth is $100 a month for one brand, 50 prompts and all eight of its models, with a 14-day free trial.
- LLMrefs costs $79 a month (marked limited time) for 500 prompts, with a 7-day trial. It tracks keywords, refreshed at least weekly, not daily prompts.
- Rankscale Pro is $99 a month for 1,200 credits, up to 4,800 answers, with a 7-day trial.
Two more if they match your stack: Nightwatch is €99 a month (€79 billed yearly) with 50 AI prompts alongside rank tracking and a 14-day no-card trial, and Knowatoa Starter is $59 a month with a free trial and three AI search surfaces.
Which alternative fits which need?
Use AEOeye for a baseline, Otterly.AI for the cheapest tracking, Peec AI or Trakkr for mid-priced daily tracking, and AthenaHQ when you want monitoring plus actions. The table shows the entry point for each, with Profound as the reference.

Compare cost per answer, not just headline price, because each vendor counts differently. Using their own units, our arithmetic gives these approximate figures:
- Peec AI Starter: 50 prompts x 3 models x 30 days = 4,500 answers, or about $0.02 each.
- Rankscale Pro: up to 4,800 answers for $99, or about $0.02 each.
- Otterly.AI Lite: 15 prompts x 4 engines x 30 days = 1,800 answers if every engine runs daily, or about $0.02 each.
- AthenaHQ Starter: 3,600 credits at one per response, or about $0.08 each.
AthenaHQ's higher unit cost buys actions and content tooling, not just measurement, so it is not a like-for-like loser. But if all you need is a tracker, paying four times as much per answer needs a reason.
How do you test any alternative before paying?
Write your own buyer questions, run them on the free tiers, and repeat them. A tool you have not tested on your questions is a guess, and a single run is only a snapshot.
- Write ten unbranded questions a buyer would type, such as "best [category] for [use case]". Do not put your brand name in them.
- Run them free. The free AEOeye audit covers three on ChatGPT; AthenaHQ's free credit and the trials above let you try others.
- Repeat the ones that matter. AI answers shift between runs, so one result is not a rate.
- Check the fix, not just the score. Our guide to why AI does not mention your brand lists the usual causes.
What you will probably find is absence, not hostility. In AEOeye's audit records (127 completed audits from June to September 2026), a brand was named in 17.6% of 892 engine answers, and 144 of the 157 mentions were positive. That sample is small and self-selected, and engine samples are unequal, so do not compare engines from it; the figures are in our benchmark file.

When is Profound still the right choice?
Profound is still the right choice when AI visibility is a funded program with a named owner and needs scale or security review. Its listed Enterprise features go beyond anything in the cheaper options above.
Per its pricing page, Enterprise lists:
- Up to nine engines, including Perplexity, Claude, Copilot, DeepSeek, Google AI Mode and Exa Search, plus ChatGPT Shopping.
- Daily tracking with all-time history, CSV and JSON exports and an API.
- Agent Analytics with integrations for CDNs and clouds such as Cloudflare, Fastly, AWS and Akamai, to see AI crawler and referral activity.
- SSO/SAML and SOC 2, unlimited seats and dedicated support.
- Agency Enterprise for networks that need tailored client workspaces and a dedicated agency partner.
If you cannot say who will open the dashboard every week, you are not there yet; start with the audit. For the head-to-head, read AEOeye vs Profound, and for the wider market see our best AI visibility tools guide. Profound's own plans are covered in our Profound pricing guide.
Key terms
- Answer engine optimization (AEO)
- The practice of improving how often and how favorably AI answer engines such as ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Google AI and Perplexity mention and cite a brand, also called generative engine optimization (GEO). ↗
| AEOeye | Otterly.AI | Peec AI | Trakkr | AthenaHQ | Profound (reference) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lowest paid price | $29 one-time report | $29/month (Lite) | $95/month (Starter) | $100/month (Growth) | $295/month (Starter) | Custom, no list price (agency from $99/month + add-ons) |
| Free way in | Free audit: 3 questions, ChatGPT | Free trial, length not stated | "Start free trial" button, length not stated | 14-day free trial | Free plan: $25 credit (300 credits) | Free 7-day Trial |
| Engines at entry | ChatGPT free; plus Claude, Gemini, Google AI, Perplexity in the report | ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot (Claude, Gemini, AI Mode extra) | 3 models you choose | All 8 models | 11 models on Starter | ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews in Trial; up to 9 on Enterprise |
| Capacity at entry | 3 questions free; 10 in report | 15 prompts, daily | 50 prompts, daily, 1 project | 50 prompts, 1 brand, daily | 3,600 credits (1 credit = 1 response) | 50 prompts for 7 days; custom on Enterprise |
| Ongoing tracking | No, one-off | Yes, daily | Yes, daily | Yes, daily | Yes | Yes, daily |
| Best for | Baseline: are we named at all? | Cheapest ongoing tracking | Mid-priced analytics, unlimited users | One brand, all models, trial first | Monitoring plus actions | Funded multi-team programs, enterprise security |
Key takeaways
- Profound's brand access is a free 7-day Trial (50 fixed prompts, three engines) or a quote-only Enterprise plan; the $99 and $399 brand plans often quoted are not on the current page.
- Agencies pay $99 a month plus $399 a month per full client workspace, so cost scales with clients.
- AEOeye is a one-off baseline, not a tracker: a free ChatGPT check, then a $29 one-time report across five engines.
- Every alternative here starts without a sales call; cost per answer ranges from about $0.02 (Peec AI, Rankscale, Otterly.AI) to about $0.08 (AthenaHQ Starter).
- Profound stays the right choice for funded, security-reviewed programs that need nine engines, history and an API.
See how AI talks about your brand
Run a free AI visibility audit in under a minute.
FAQ
Is there a Profound alternative with no sales call?+
Yes, several. AEOeye's free check and AthenaHQ's free plan need no card or call, and Otterly.AI, Peec AI, Trakkr, LLMrefs, Rankscale and Nightwatch each offer a free trial from a public pricing page. Profound's own free Trial also links to self-serve sign-up; it is the paid Enterprise plan that starts with a demo.
Is there a free alternative to Profound?+
AEOeye's audit is free for three buyer questions on ChatGPT, and AthenaHQ's Free plan includes a $25 credit (300 credits). Both are limited. The others offer time-limited trials rather than free-forever plans, so treat them as a way to test, not a permanent tier. As of October 2026, Profound's free option is a 7-day Trial.
What is the cheapest Profound alternative for ongoing tracking?+
On published prices, Otterly.AI Lite at $29 a month is the lowest for daily tracking, with 15 prompts on four engines. LLMrefs is $79, Peec AI $95, Rankscale $99 and Trakkr $100. Prompt allowances differ a lot, so compare cost per answer using each vendor's own units rather than the headline price alone.
Can AEOeye replace Profound?+
Only for a one-off baseline. AEOeye's free check tests ChatGPT on three questions and the $29 report adds four engines and ten questions, but there is no daily tracking or history. If you need to watch visibility move across many prompts, use a dedicated tracker such as Profound, Peec AI or Otterly.AI after the audit shows a gap.
How much does Profound cost for agencies?+
Per Profound's pricing page, Agency Growth is $99 a month plus add-ons, and each full client workspace is a $399-a-month add-on, with five extra trial workspaces at $199 a month. Agency Enterprise is custom. These are public prices as of October 2026; credits and Enterprise quotes are not published.